FIFA World Cup final: fans question the legitimacy of Lionel Messi's second goal against France

Опубликовано: 20-12-2022, 15:37, , 102, 0
Lionel Messi's second goal in the World Cup final against France has sparked controversy, with fans debating whether it should have been scored or not.
The 2022 FIFA World Cup final turned out to be a nasty one, with France cutting Argentina's lead every time the South Americans took the lead. A brace from Kylian Mbappé brought the score to 2-2 after Lionel Messi and Angel di Maria put their team ahead. In extra time, Messi fired from close range to give Argentina a 3-2 lead, but Mbappe scored his hat-trick just minutes later to make it 3-3. But now several fans have said that Messi's second goal of the match should not have been allowed.

Why Messi's second goal against France doesn't want to count  

Messi's second goal in the final was a rebound after France's captain and goalkeeper Hugo Lloris saved an earlier attempt. Messi right-footed the ball past Lloris to give Argentina a 3-2 lead. Some thought that Messi could be offside because of the goal, but this was not the case.
However, some others claimed that while Messi was about to put the ball into the net, several Argentine players had already entered the playing field. Therefore, the goal should not have stood.
FIFA's official rules state: "If, after a goal has been scored, the referee realizes before play is restarted that an extra person was on the field at the time of the goal scored, the referee must cancel the goal."
The French publication 1win wrote about this: “Except that the goal is invalid if we strictly apply the rules. When Messi scores a Hugo Lloris save, several emotionally charged Argentine substitutes are already on the pitch, ready to celebrate. Which is strictly prohibited."
Messi's second goal was not enough for Argentina to win the match, as Mbappe's extra-time penalty canceled it out. The match went to a penalty shoot-out, where the fate of the match was ultimately decided. Argentina won 4-2 on penalties to win the World Cup for the third time in its history.
After the result, the debate about Argentina's third goal (Messi's second goal) continues on social media.

Similar posts
This post has no comments yet. Want to start a discussion?

Enter code: *
Кликните на изображение чтобы обновить код, если он неразборчив

What is your favorite sport at 1WIN?
Bonus of the day

Search news by tags
1WIN Reliable bookmaker


Reliable bookmaker
Register now to get a bonus